## **2025 Memorial Grove Ceremony**

The 2025 Memorial Grove Ceremony will be held on <u>Saturday, May 3, 2025</u>, to honor thirty-three people who have recently passed away and spent most or all their Forest Service careers in this Region. (See listing below for the honorees who will be recognized this year)

Families have been invited to attend this very special Rocky Mountain Region ceremony at the Memorial Grove where trees have been planted since 1921. This century-old tradition is unique in the Forest Service and each year it provides an opportunity to recognize the great work and good people who have done so much in so many ways to "Care for the Land and Serve the People".

Over 1500 names are engraved at the Memorial and a listing of all of those who have been honored over the years is found on our website with the year they were honored.

The ceremony will start at 10:00 a.m. and if you have never attended, it is a very special program with music, flag ceremony, riderless horse, mounting of the brass plates with names of the honorees, and bell ringing.

Each honoree is recognized, and a tree is planted in memory of all those being honored. After the ceremony lunch is provided by the Rocky Mountaineers.

If you plan to attend, you are welcome to bring a salad or dessert to share and supplement the sandwiches and chips that are provided for lunch. Check the weather for the day and plan accordingly.

**Send Tom Thompson (thom46pson@gmail.com) an email if you plan to attend** and he will send you a map, other details about the ceremony, and ensure there are plenty of lunches.

The Memorial Grove was first established to recognize five rangers who died while serving the country in World War 1 and District (Regional) Forester Alan Peck was instrumental in its establishment.

The criteria that have been established and used to determine recognition at Memorial Grove are:

- 1. Died while still working in the Region.
- 2. Retired from the Region.
- 3. Worked in the Region and returned back to the Region after retirement.

4. Otherwise determined by the committee to have substantial or exceptional connection to the Region.

Donations specifically to support Memorial Grove are welcome and help to provide funds for maintenance, brass plates, improvements at the site, and help to cover some of the costs of the ceremony. See our website for information about making a donation.

## 2024 Memorial Grove Honorees

## **Spring 2025**

Rudy Karl Anderson - Black Hills N.F.

Margery Gene Baldwin - Black Hills N.F.

Gary R. Blyth - Bighorn N.F.

Sandra Campbell - San Juan N.F.

Lewis Junior Compton - Black Hills N.F.

David James Condit - PSICC

Bill Conklin - Routt, White River, Gunnison N. F. and R-6

Dave Cook - Shoshone, Grand Mesa, and San Juan N. F.s

Orval DeVere Elliott - Black Hills N.F.

Van Curtis Elsbernd - R-2, R-1, WO

Marvin Wallace Hammer - Black Hills, Arapaho Roosevelt N.F.

James Richard Hillis - Rio Grande, Black Hills N.F.

Jim Holloway - Regional Office

Robert Lee (Bob) Kapushion - White River N.F.

Kenneth Lee Kane - Rio Grande, R-9, R-10 & FCCC

Frank Lee Leonard, Jr. - GMUG N.F.

John Murphy - Black Hills N.F.

Mary Louise Nelson - Rio Grande N.F.

Linn Pettijohn - Routt, Rio Grande, White River and Kaibab N.F.

Eufracio Cornelio (E.C.) Quintana - White River N. F., Arapaho Roosevelt N.F.

Steph Marie Martinez Rocco - GMUG N.F.

John Linde Sundberg - Routt N.F.

Forrest Henry Tellock - Bighorn N.F.

Jean Adele Gelvin Thomas - Arapaho Roosevelt N.F., W.O.

Guy Malcolm Virkula - Black Hills N.F.

Gilbert (Gil) Walker - Bighorn N.F.

## **Not Forgotten**

Frederick J. (Fred) Backenstose - Bighorn N.F., 2023

Jim Fischer - White River, Shoshone, Arapaho Roosevelt N.F.s, 2023

Nick Gerich - PSICC, Leadville R.D., 2021

Esther Pauline "Polly" Hammer - GMUG, 2023

Kyle Jamison Jones - Nebraska N.F., 2023

James Sosten (Jim) Lujan - San Juan N.F., 2023

Leroy Howard Self - San Juan N.F., 2023